Bake & Doubles


This morning was the first time I have ever been to A&A Bake and Doubles Shop at 481 Nostrand Ave. in Brooklyn. I know, I know, I should have gone there AGES ago, but I am so happy I haven’t waited any longer. Always a long line and idling vehicles curbside waiting for A&A’s warm and spicy little snacks. Just two doubles for me today, and lots of napkins! After I demolished the treats in a matter of seconds (sticky tamarind sauce is now all over my keyboard), I decided to do a little internet search on the “Doubles King”, and besides the copious amounts of Yelp! and other food related sites (vegguide.org and even other blogs, just to name two), I found this great article, albeit from 2003, in the Village Voice about A&A … so famous and I didn’t even know!

Now I am keeping my eyes peeled for other little hidden gems around the neighborhood.

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Bed Stuy, Fulton Street, Restaurant, Small Business, Take Out, West Indian

Subscribe to the Gateway!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Discuss!

